Introductions - Michael DeWitt

Hi everyone,

My name is Michael DeWitt and I am a research data scientist at the Wake Forest University School of Medicine in Winston-Salem, NC and a founding member of the Center for the Study of Microbial Ecology and Emerging Diseases. I’m interested in infectious disease modelling and dynamics–especially surveillance and detection with incomplete and biased data in which Bayesian frameworks work beautifully. A constant in my thinking is “how does this relate to public health intervention/action/insight” and how our models should be applied under different contexts of outbreaks (e.g., early, later). I typically work in R and Stan, though I find myself doing more in Julia these days.

I came to infectious disease modelling after a bit of a meandering path. I worked in industry for ten years starting during my undergraduate degree (in chemical engineering). During my time in industry I worked on a lot of applied statistics, forecasting, operations research, and data analysis–which ranged from a variety of high velocity, low signal data to sparse and biased data. We also got to run real controlled experiments, which was fun. It was an important lesson to learn how my analysis would be used by machine operators and management to inform their action (and how different audiences were interested in different elements of the analysis).